Website Makeover – Cathy Leaycraft

screen-shot-2016-09-14-at-11-55-43-am

The Final Result

“I strive for a dreamlike quality, and a sense of timelessness.” Cathy Leaycraft‘s beautiful, haunting images are created without the use of computer manipulation Rather, she photographs them through a glass sphere. “I do not directly photograph the landscape. I photograph its reflection on the glass surface; the environments behind and below the sphere create additional layers of imagery. On occasion, I insert an object into my sphere thus creating a reflected, surreal world for my selected subject.”

Cathy was using one of our older templates, which wasn’t mobile-friendly, and which meant she only had access to our older fonts. She agreed to let me update her site.

screen-shot-2016-09-12-at-4-01-11-pm

Before

Because her work is complicated and striking, we agreed that a simple background was the best. In this vein, I kept the simple white background she had chosen. I moved the picture of her art in a home to the artist’s statement page, in order to keep the home page as uncluttered as possible. And I removed the artist’s portrait for the same reason, and  because she already had portraits on her biography pages. I updated the fonts and the colors of the text, to make the whole page seem cleaner and more interesting. I increased the font size for her name, to make it more clearly the title of the page. And then I let the work speak for itself!

If you would like a website makeover contact me at claire@artspan.com. If you’d like to try to update your own site, look in the tutorials section of your control panel to learn how to use all the design tools.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Website Makeover – Cathy Leaycraft

  1. I feel the site shows a burst of color that keeps my eye focused for a good amount of time, even to the point where I used my zoom to see more. Also the example of a piece of your work in a living room is A++. I like it…… Jim

    Like

Leave a Reply

